Tuesday, May 08, 2012

Liverpool Adamant Andy Carroll Header Was Over The Line

Liverpool striker Andy Carroll claims that his late header should have taken the FA Cup final to extra time and denied Chelsea their 2-1 victory.

The Liverpool substitute had already scored once and thought he had equalized in the 82nd minute when Petr Cech clawed the ball out of his goal via the crossbar.

Video evidence was inconclusive but suggested that referee Phil Dowd had made the correct decision, sparking fresh debate over the issue of goalline technology in football.

“I thought it was over the line,” said Carroll. “I thought it was in. I thought it came off the other side of the bar, which means it is in.”

Kenny Dalglish, the Liverpool manager, said that Dowd and his assistants should be congratulated if they got the decision correct but added: “It seems some people would have given it and some people would not have. I thought it was in.”

Cech and Chelsea captain John Terry, however, were adamant that Dowd had made the right decision. “If the ball was behind the line I wouldn’t have been able to put it outside," said Cech.

"I’m sure it was not behind the line. I’m 100 per cent persuaded it was not in.”

No comments: